It should already be the FIRST thing you do when you get in the car and cops in Michigan will be making sure of that. 

news release from Michigan State Police, their “Click it or Ticket” Campaign kicked off on Monday and continues through June 2nd. During this time, law enforcement across the state will be on high alert looking for those who aren’t buckled up. This includes local police, sheriff’s departments, and state police.

During the Memorial Day holiday last year, 19 people died in auto accidents — double the number from 2017.

Seat belt use is the single most effective way to stay alive in a crash. Buckling up can reduce the risk of serious injury or death in a crash by 45 percent.

Thankfully, for the most part, Michiganders are good about wearing their seat belts with a 93.4% usage rate which is higher than the national rate of 89.6%.

Drivers, front-seat passengers, and anyone 15 and under are all required to wear seat belts in Michigan. A ticket for not wearing a seat belt will cost you $65. 

More From 97.9 WGRD