Texting & Driving Fines May Increase in Michigan
Distracted driving continues to be a problem, with texting being the major one so a new legislation was introduced to increase the fines in Michigan.
Currently, if you get caught texting & driving in the state the fines are:
- $100 - 1st time offense
- $200 - 2nd time offense
The new law would make it $250 and $500 respectively.
Representative Jason Sheppard told WXYZ Detroit that he believes the higher fees will make people think twice before pulling their phone out. The exception to the law would obviously be in emergency situations.
The bill was sent to the Committee of Transportation for review.
Stricter laws when it comes to texting is no surprise as Battle Creek just went completely hands-free while driving, which means you can't even be holding your cell phone if you're on the road.