Even with a third-string quarterback, Ohio State was better than an Oregon team led by a Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback.

Backup quarterback Cardale Jones completed 16-of-23 passes for 242 yards and a touchdown with an interception and ran for another touchdown and sophomore tailback Ezekiel "Zeke" Elliott ran for 246 yards and four touchdowns as the fourth-seeded Buckeyes defeated the second-seeded Ducks 42-20 in the College Football Playoff National Championship on Monday night in Arlington, Texas.

The victory gave Ohio State (14-1), the Big Ten Conference champion, its eighth national championship.

Ohio State overcame a 7-0 first-quarter deficit with 21 unanswered points for a 21-10 lead at halftime.

Oregon (13-2) managed to get within 21-20 on Aidan Schneider's 23-yard field goal with 6 minutes, 39 seconds left in the third quarter. However, Ohio State dominated the remainder as Elliott scored the game's last three touchdowns.

The triumph gave Ohio State Coach Urban Meyer his third national title, adding to his two at Florida (2006 and 2008). He also coached unbeaten teams at Ohio State (2012) and Utah (2004) that didn't win national titles.

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota was 23-of-34 passing for 333 yards and two touchdowns and ran for 39 yards, but couldn't find a way to consistently keep the Ducks on track.

Ohio State committed a season-high four turnovers, while Oregon only had one -- an interception on the game’s last play.

The Buckeyes scored five touchdowns on five red zone possessions.

More From 97.9 WGRD