The new driving law called Michigan Move Over Law kicked off on February 13 and there is a serious fine for breaking it that will come with points added to your license.

According to WWMT, the move over law requires motorists to slow down 10 miles per hour when passing an emergency vehicle on the side of the road and to move to the left lane when available.

According to the Kalamazoo Department of Public Safety Sargent David Moran, "Its also changed from a misdemeanor to a civil infraction with a $400 fine." It can also add to points to your driving record.

The law is designed to help protect the people involved in a traffic stop plus any other emergency vehicles that include, fire, two trucks, emergency vehicles with flashing lights on, power companies and anyone else working near a road.

If you would like to see a complete detailed explanation of the Michigan Mover Over Law just click here.


More From 97.9 WGRD