Did you know it's illegal in Michigan to seduce an unmarried woman? Yup. Stay away from unmarried women, or you may get five years in the joint.

The Law Goes Back To 1846, But It Was Updated In 1931

Back in the day, a woman's propriety was important, so they tried to protect unmarried woman from the men-folk who had a pretty good seduction game working. Men with 'good game' back in the '30s were known as 'wolves' or 'cads', but nowadays are more commonly referred to as 'dogs'.

Seductive Gaze
Getty Images

That's why in 1931 the Michigan State Legislature enacted Act 328 of the Michigan Penal Code, which states you shouldn't move and complete said move on an unmarried woman:

Punishment—Any man who shall seduce and debauch any unmarried woman shall be guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment in the state prison not more than 5 years or by fine of not more than 2,500 dollars; but no prosecution shall be commenced under this section after 1 year from the time of committing the offense.

Whoa! That basically means if you follow through on a successful seduction, you could do some hard time.

Getty Images

It's A Weird Law Buried In A Huge Reform Bill

The truth is no one has ever been convicted of this crime in Michigan. It was put on the books as part of a sweeping crime legislation reform which came about to clarify some codes already on the books, some dealing with adults supplying beer and liquor to minors, and some dealing with putting substances into drinks, which I believe was referred to as "slipping someone a Mickey" back in the '30s.

So seduce away young man, but keep in mind, that law can be applied at any time, so treat that lady right or she will turn you in.

After Dinner Drink
Getty Images

Vintage Michigan Lover's Lanes & Couples

More From 97.9 WGRD