Contact Us

Who’s Your Heisman? [POLL]


Three finalists have been announced to win this year’s Heisman Trophy, which is given annually to the player deemed the most outstanding player in collegiate football.


Klein passed for 2,490 yards and threw 15 touchdown passes while rushing for 890 yards with 22 rushing touchdowns leading Kansas State to an 11-1 record, Big 12 Championship and berth in the Fiesta Bowl against Oregon.  His team’s national championship hopes were crushed by a 52-24 loss at Baylor in which he threw 3 interceptions and only averaged 2.3 yards per carry on 17 rushing attempts.


Te’o is the centerpiece of an Irish defense that has allowed just 10 touchdowns all year and ranks best in the nation in scoring defense.  Te’o leads that defense with 101 tackles and 7 interceptions.  Goal line stands against Stanford and Southern Cal helped Notre Dame to a perfect 12-0 record, #1 ranking and spot in the BCS National Championship Game against Alabama.  Te’o is hoping to be the first player in history who only plays on defense to win the award.


Manziel, or “Johnny Football,” has had an amazing freshman season.  He set a record in total yards in the best conference in the nation, the SEC.  He passed for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns while rushing for 1,181 yards and 19 touchdowns.  His Aggies are 10-2 and shocked the world by beating Alabama in Tuscaloosa.  No freshman has ever won the Heisman Trophy.

All three have had terrific seasons, but in my estimation, Kansas State’s loss to Baylor eliminates Klein, especially since the other quarterback’s stats are more impressive.  So we’re down to Manziel or Te’o.  Setting the SEC record in total yards means something, especially when the last two players to lead that conference in total yards went on to win the Heisman.  No freshman has ever won the award and some voters may be hesitant to vote for one to win, but in my opinion, being a first year student shouldn’t factor into the decision.  While Manziel could make history by being the first freshman to win, Te’o could make history by being the first solely defensive player in history to win.  Charles Woodson of Michigan primarily played defense but also played on special teams and offense.  He won the award in 1997.  Te’o is the best player on the best defense in the country on a team that is undefeated and ranked #1.

“I am inclined to believe that Johnny Manziel should and will win the award, but as a lifelong Notre Dame fan, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want Manti Te’o win the Heisman Trophy.” – Shaffee



Best of 97.9 GRD

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for Freeloaders quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Freeloaders contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.