Taking Back Sunday, who helped lead the emo renaissance in the early 2000's, have just posted a brand new song from their upcoming self-titled album, which is due out this summer. The new record will be the first with the original lineup since 2003's Tell All Your Friends.

Lead singer Adam Lazzara said the following about "El Paso" (via Alternative Press):

"We have been waiting ever so patiently to share new music with everyone. ’El Paso’ was one of the first songs written for our new record and is by far the heaviest our band has ever ventured.   We spent a few weeks at the Sonic Ranch in El Paso, TX while writing and i feel this song in particular really embodies both the mood of the environment we were in down there and the mood we were in about being back together again and writing new music.  Hence the title, ‘El Paso.’  Be prepared for some punishing goodness, ladies and gentlemen, fasten your seatbelts.”

Original guitarist John Nolan and bassist Shaun Cooper left Taking Back Sunday shortly after Tell All Your Friends was released due to unrest in the band, and went on to form Straylight Run.  The duo rejoined the group almost a year ago and announced they were working on a new record.  You can listen to the song below.

What do you think?  Excited about new TBS?  It's definitely less pop punk than 2004's Where You Want to Be, the band's most accessible album.  I'm looking forward to the new record and hopefully they'll come back to Grand Rapids for their eventual tour.

Follow Dave Kim on Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr.