Michigan Driver Responsibility Fees to be Waived on Oct. 1
Over 300,000 drivers in Michigan currently owe over $600,000,000 thanks to Michigan's Driver Responsibility Fee.
Beginning on Oct. 1, 2018, all of that debt will be forgiven.
Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder has signed into law a bill which will forgive the debt on Oct. 1.
Secretary of State Ruth Johnson's office explained the fees:
Driver Responsibility Fees are an additional fee automatically charged for various traffic violations, including non-moving violations, on top of regular traffic citation fines and court costs. Unlike traditional court fines and fees in which a judge can take into consideration a driver’s ability to pay and order alternatives, such as payment plans or community service in lieu of payment, the automatically assessed Driver Responsibility Fees cannot be waived or reduced by a judge.
Crain's Detroit Business says $637 million is owed by more than 300,000 motorists.
If you are currently paying a Michigan Driver Responsibility Fee, you may have to keep paying as planned until Oct. 1. Michigan.gov breaks down how it works:
BEGINNING OCT. 1, 2018:
- Michigan’s Driver Responsibility Fee law is no longer in effect.
- Residents with any outstanding Driver Responsibility Fees will not have to pay them and are eligible to have their driver’s licenses reinstated.
If you entered into a Driver Responsibility Fee payment plan ON or BEFORE Feb. 1, 2018:
- The balance of your payments will be waived and you will owe nothing more after March 30. Please continue to make payments until that time to remain in good standing.
- You are eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated – no reinstatement fee is due. If you were issued your driver’s license, you may continue to drive and do not need to visit a Secretary of State office. If you have other outstanding suspensions or fees, those must be cleared before you are eligible to apply for your driver’s license.
If you entered into a Driver Responsibility Fee payment plan AFTER Feb. 1, 2018:
- You are still responsible for making payments through Sept. 30, 2018. Failure to make payments may result in further actions against your driver’s license.
NO PAYMENT PLAN
- The Michigan Department of Treasury will stop collecting Driver Responsibility Fees on Sept. 30, 2018. Until that date, you are still responsible for any Driver Responsibility Fee payments owed.
- Beginning March 30, 2018, you may enter into a Work Force Training program as an alternative to paying fees. You may be eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated once you complete the Work Force Training program.
- Driver’s license reinstatement fees for failing to pay Driver Responsibility Fees are waived from Oct. 1, 2018 through Dec. 31, 2018. After Dec. 31, 2018, a reinstatement fee resulting from a failure to pay a Driver Responsibility Fee will be due before your license can be reinstated.
- Any reinstatement fees resulting from suspensions for other violations, such as a failure to appear in court or driving on a suspended license, must be cleared before your license can be reinstated.
- If your driver’s license has been expired for four or more years, a written test and a road test must be passed before a new license can be issued.
If you have questions you can call 517-636-5240 and look here for updates.